Hidden Duos

Full details...
page one of Hidden Duos

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Hidden Duos was written in 2007 and was revised in 2014 after hearing the Kwa-Zulu Natal Philharmonic Orchestra read through the score. It is for a small chamber orchestra of single woodwinds and brass, piano, percussion and strings. It is in two movements that play without a break – a Moderato followed by an Adagio, the latter essentially being a passacaglia.

The Moderato, subtitled ‘Dialogues and Conflict’, opens with a scrunching chord that forms the basic harmonic and melodic structure of the piece. The instruments constantly form ad hoc duets and these represent for the composer the various relationships we encounter in our lives, whether professional, family, personal or even spiritual. Some of these duos are subtle and not too obvious, hence the word ’hidden’ in the title.

The Adagio movement acts as a calm resolution to the first movement, building to a dramatic climax, followed by a meditative coda.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Hidden Duos

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...