Beginners' Tunes for piano, keyboard or glockenspiel

Not applicable (e.g. worksheet)
5 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

Ten tunes for the complete beginner on the piano, keyboard or glockenspiel, arranged in ascending order of difficulty.

All the tunes are in C major (no sharps or flats) and use a progressively increasing range that starts with only three notes and finishes at an octave. The eight notes of the scale are colour-coded in the music in a way that corresponds to a common colour scheme on educational glockenspiels and keyboards. Alternatively, parents/teachers can stick coloured stickers onto piano or keyboard keys.

Chord symbols (C, F and G only) are provided for those learning to form chords with their left hand.

The pages are printed two tunes to a page, so you can either use it in A4 format or cut the pages in half to form 10 A5 landscape sheets (quite a useful format for music stands).

If there is enough demand for these tunes, I shall publish the next 10!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Chris Gill. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Chris Gill has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.