Home > Large mixed ensemble > Concertino for Clarinet Op.26

Concertino for Clarinet Op.26

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Related scores
1st Movement - Sonata No 14 (Moonlight) arr. for Clarinet Quartet, "Alleluia" from Exultate Jubilate arr. for Solo Alto or Soprano Saxophone with Clarinet Quartet, 'La Cinquantaine' arr. for Clarinet Quartet, A Lttle Baroque Suite arr. for Clarinet Quartet, 'Largo' arr. for Clarinet Quartet, Tambourin arr. for Clarinet Quartet, Military March No.3 arr. for Clarinet Quartet, Waltz from 'Serenade for Strings', The Fairest of the Fair arr. for Clarinet Quartet, O For The Wings Of A Dove arr. for clarinet solo, Overture 'The Italian Girl in Algiers' arr for Clarinet Quartet, Polish Dance No4 'KRAKOWIAK' arr for Clarinet Quartet, Overture to 'Light Cavalry' arr. forClarinet Quartet, ’Sleepers Wake’ for Clarinet Quartet with solo Bassoon,Tenor Sax or Trombone , Three Pieces from 'Espana' arr. for Clarinet Quartet, Choral : 'Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring', Overture 'The Magic Flute' arr for Clarinet Quartet, Academic Festival Overture arr for Clarinet Quartet, Overture to 'Egmont' L van Beethoven arr for Clarinet Choir, Voices of Spring arr. for Clarinet Quartet, We Wish You A Merry Christmas arr for Clarinet Quartet, 'Poet & Peasant' arr. for Clarinet Quartet, Finale - Symphony No6 - Mozart arr for Woodwind Ensemble, Nowell! Nowell! for Wind Ensemble, Galop, Pavane for Woodwind Ensemble, Prelude from 'Te Deum', God Save The Queen with Fanfare, Hallelujah Chorus arr for combined Saxophone & Clarinet Quartets, Concertino for Bass Clarinet & Wind Orchestra, Scottish Pictures, Wagons Roll!, Nessun Dorma arr. for Clarinet Quartet and Around Britain

Weber's Clarinet Concertino, written in 1811 for Heinrich Barmann, has been in the Grade 8 Clarinet repertoire of the British Associated Board Syllabus for as long as I can remember. In making this arrangement for Solo Clarinet & Wind Ensemble, I have moved away from the old 'military band arrangement' ideas and tried to capture the feel of Weber's original orchestration. To this end the ensemble parts are designed for one player per part. In other words, not groups of 1st, 2nd & 3rd Clarinets etc. etc. I have also kept to the original 'open' horn and trumpet sounds, the only difference being to replace the 2nd Horn part with a Trombone to give the brass section of the ensemble a more rounded sound. For lightness, I have scored the bass part for String Bass but an alternative Tuba part is available in the absence of a String Bass.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Cathy Parker. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Cathy Parker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.