Pictures at an Exhibition (for Saxophone Ensemble)

Modest Mussorgsky
Full details...
page one of Pictures at an Exhibition (for Saxophone Ensemble)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Arranged for Equinox Saxophone Ensemble in 2007 (, ’Pictures at an Exhibition’ employs a full batalion of saxophones - in fact, ALL of Adolphe Sax’s original Eb and Bb saxophones (except the subcontrabass that was never made).

This huge work, with its many recognisable and picturesque themes, was originally for piano and sums around 30 minutes of music. Movements have been selected and editted to produce a shorter set of 15 minutes, comprising ’The Gnome’, ’The Old Castle’, ’The Tuilieres’, ’Bydlo’, ’Catacombes: Sepulcrum Romanum’, ’The Great Gate of Kiev’ and three appearances of the Promenade interludes. Individual movements will hopefully be available on Sibeliusmusic soon as well.

Score ID
Modest Mussorgsky
Difficult (Grades 7+)
17 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Pictures at an Exhibition (for Saxophone Ensemble)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...