Toccata in D Major

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts

This is my arrgt of Bach's wonderful Keyboard Toccata in D major. The arrgt was especially made for Deborah de Graaff (Clarinettist) and her Chamber Ensemble 'The Ku-ring-gai Virtuosi'. In this version, the Clarinet part is particularly virtuosic with an almost equally interesting part written for the Cello. The Piano however acts purely in an accompanying role occasionally playing with only one finger at a time! I hope this doesn't upset too many Pianists! The Premiere was given on 18th October, 2002 in Sydney, Australia with a second performance given later that month in the same City. 1762 page visits.

Bach Toccata in D major BWV 912 arranged by Jonathan FeBland

Quick analysis

Introduction bar 1 to bar 10/3

Fugue I bar 10/4 to bar 67 ~ Fugue I - Allegro 4/4 Fugue

Linking section or �bridge passage� bar 68 to bar 80

Fugue II bar 80/1 to bar 111/3 ~ Fugue II - Adagietto 4/4 Fugue

Linking section II or �bridge passage II� bar 111/3 to bar 126

Fugue III bar 127 to bar 264/2 ~ Fugue III � Allegro 6/16 Fugue

Coda bar 264/2 to bar 277

Easy practise method suggestion:

Start with the Fugues!

Try first of all the slower Adagietto Fugue (Fugue II starting at b.80/1)

Then try the Allegro 4/4 Fugue (Fugue I starting at b.10/4)

Finally try the amazing 6/16 Fugue at a medium tempo (Fugue III starting at b.127)

n.b. The Introduction, bridge passages and Coda will all need special and careful practise. They are very demanding from the point of view of true Ensemble playing.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan FeBland. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan FeBland has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.