Canon in D - Keyboard

Johann Pachelbel
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Keyboards)
Instrumental parts
Not available

I have decided to arrange Pachelbel's famous Canon in D for keyboard. The piece is very popular, but I have never seen an arrangement for keyboard, which surprises me.

I continually used the only first violin's notes of the original piece. The piece would become too difficult if it had been double-voiced. However, sometimes I merged two variations into one as they would get too boring when not played simultaneously.

I suggest that the piece not be transposed too low. On many keyboards the range of the accompaniment side is not adjustable and often it ranges from low C to F under the middle C. If the score were transposed too low, the notes would get too low and one would play them below that F. Then they could not be heard well anymore as they would be struck on the accompaniment side.

I have placed double bars at the end of every veriation, so that you can choose which of the variations you want to play.

Well, having said all this, I hope you enjoy this little arrangement!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Yoïn van Spijk. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Yoïn van Spijk has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.