Vier Tonstücke

Adam Darr
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
11 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts

Vier Tonstücke, for two zithers with arbitrary accompaniment of the guitar, is a set of four pieces that was probably written for the home entertainment consumer. The Nocturne, Waltzer, Rondino, and Andante are well-crafted examples of Darr's expressive style. Toward the end of his life, Darr put a lot of effort into composing music for the zither. It appears that he was attempting to write music that would change the role of the instrument from that of folk zither into an instrument for the concert or at least the salon. The guitar part is really an optional part and is quite easy. If the guitar is used, much of the music on the zither's bass clefs can be safely omitted. Zither players need to be aware that Darr's zither tuning is different that of today's modern instrument. For a historically accurate performance string #10 must be tuned and octave higher, while strings # 17, 19, and 22 must be tuned an octave lower than today's tuning standard. For more information on Darr see my DMA research paper "ADAM DARR (1811-1866) THE CAREER AND WORKS OF A GERMAN ROMANTIC GUITARIST AND ZITHERIST."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.