Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Modern classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

(From my program notes): Emergence depicts a musical journey through a timeline of our society. Emergence showcases the emergence of mankind from its inception to its hopeful future, all while exploring its ever-changing yet cumulative nature. For millennia, we have suffered many hardships and difficulties, but have still prospered to this day. Emergence celebrates humanity, as it has grown from a mysterious presence into a wonderfully advanced and diverse group.

Emergence is divided into four short sections:

I. Genesis � Quietly opening and building (symbolizing the pre-human period) until the glorious point where humanity is founded and recognized. II. Rise and Fall � Introduced by a quiet saxophone solo which accompanies aseries of aural rises and falls ultimately growing to a dominant section, which quickly collapses. This section represents the �rises and falls� of ideas, beliefs, and phases that societies undergo during their lifetimes. III. Renaissance � An ode to the reform in societal structure and complexity, marked by a short march but followed by an extended variation of a secondary theme from the previous section. A �rebirth� of humanity is also presented. IV. Beyond the Horizon � Written in major key to emphasize the optimism and hope for the future. Bits and pieces of the previous three sections are combined to create a driving, powerful conclusion.

If you'd like parts, please email me.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Matt Cadirao. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Matt Cadirao has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.