Bruit Nuages

Full details...
page one of Bruit Nuages

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

"Bruit Nuages" is a work that is based on "Sound Clouds", or masses of sounds. This is achieved by adding many melodic layers or ideas to a particular "body" of sound; this creates both dense and sparse textures. The work also has a heavy emphasis on pairs. A great deal of the harmonic ideas of this work is based on duets or a melody and a counter-melody. Bruit Nuages was written for the purpose of this concert and was created with specifications of the concert in mind. As a result, this work only uses a relatively small orchestra and is relatively simple in concept.

The structure of this work is very simple, it is divided into three sections. The first section is based on masses of sounds that develop independently of each other. Some of these "Sound Clouds" have a dense and complex texture, others are simpler in nature. All of these masses of sounds come together at a violent climactic point. The second section, for contrast, is more passive. In this section, thematic ideas are developed, with a more obvious emphasis on the duets idea. Sound masses are the predominant feature again, some appearing simultaneously; all of these masses eventually overlap to create dense textures. In the third section, the entire orchestra is used to create one large mass of sound. This sound mass develops from a solitary pitch in the woodwinds into a dense cluster encompassing the entire orchestra. It is this sound mass that reaches the climactic point of the work, before fading away into the distance.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Bruit Nuages

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...