Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Handel's opera "Rinaldo" was first presented on stage in London in 1711 and is the first Italian opera specifically written for performance in London. Handel made changes to the music in the period 1712-17 and revised it extensively in 1731. This arrangement is prepared from the 1711 version.

There are three extracts from the opera: (1) A lively Presto from Act I Scene V; (2) the hauntingly moving aria "Lascia ch'io pianga" (Let me Weep) from Act II Scene IV; and (3) a Vivace in 6/8 time from Act II Scene III.

Lascia ch'io pianga is perhaps the most famous aria in this opera and has recently been sung by both Sarah Brightman and Charlotte Church.

The scoring is basically for the brass band minus trombones and percussion. It could be played by 11 players.

To play this piece well will require players of a high standard since the technical demands are not inconsiderable.

I have tried to be faithful to the original score. However, the dynamic markings (p, mp etc) are my own as are the suggested tempo markings.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Hargreaves. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Hargreaves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.