I love these Op.36 sonatinas, they are just so much fun to play.

In this arrangement, I've filled out the harmony and parts otherwise the textures, which work very well on the piano, would sound rather thin in this quartet environment.

Enjoy :-)..

Comment on Daniel Schertle' review

In Clementi's original version there is only enough material for the violin and cello. In the main it is only single notes for each of the hands to play. Therefore in order to give the other players something to do, one needs to add parts that are not there in the original. These additional parts were not meant to be an exercise in four part harmony, although some account was taken of those rules. If I missed a few then it doesn't really matter as the overall sound is what matters.

It may not sound as if Clementi himself did the arrangement, but that is not the point, he didn't do it, I did.

I think Clementi may have quite liked this :-) We will never know……

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tony Matthews. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tony Matthews has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.