Je nay dueul

Alexander Agricola
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Soprano Recorder)

The source is Petrucci’s Odhecaton published in 1501. (See The piece is based on a motif from a chanson by Ockeghem with the same name.

I’ve kept the original note values, and used long bars as an experimental compromise between barred and unbarred notation. Feel free, of course, to disagree with my suggested ficta.

One alteration to the music has been made - the first note in the bass has been transferred from the second line where it was below the range of the tenor recorder.

Playing parts are available - open the links immediately below this note.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Chris May. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Chris May has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.