MANNING, G. - Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis Op.6 - Latin Text - for Chamber Choir & String Quartet

Full details...
page one of MANNING, G. - Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis Op.6 - Latin Text - for Chamber Choir & String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Canticle Settings for Evening Prayer

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis Latin Text: Luke 1: 46 � 55. Luke 2: 29 � 32.

Music: Gerald Manning

Composed in 2007 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of my Confirmation into the Anglican Church by the Lord Bishop of London at Westminster Abbey on Saturday, 23 March 1957.

Canticle�s are hymns of praise and are taken from the Bible for use in the liturgy. The three Evangelical Hymns or �Cantica majora� of the Roman Catholic Church are the �Magnificat,� the �Benedictus dominus deus Israel,� and the �Nunc dimittis.� Canticle�s are sung in the Roman Catholic Church at Vespers and in the Anglican Church at Evensong. They may be sung to Plainsong, or in the Anglican Church to an Anglican Chant, or, in either church, to a setting by some composer, and very beautiful settings exist by Palestrina, Bach, Thomas Tallis, and others. Composers often set the Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis together either on their own or as part of a full service, and modern settings diverge greatly in scale and complexity as can be seen in the work of Polish composer and conductor Krzysztof Penderecki, with whom I have had the pleasure of playing on many occasions, especially in a memorable performance of his choral-orchestral work the St Luke Passion given at the Royal Albert Hall during the Henry Wood Promenade Concerts with Maestro Penderecki conducting.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for MANNING, G. - Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis Op.6 - Latin Text - for Chamber Choir & String Quartet

Reviews of MANNING, G. - Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis Op.6 - Latin Text - for Chamber Choir & String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...