Home > Large mixed ensemble > neon minds and gentle personalities (juvenilia, mixed ensemble)

neon minds and gentle personalities (juvenilia, mixed ensemble)

Year of composition
Joris van der Herten
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

"neon minds (and gentle personalities" is a work which tries to capture a bit of our modern political world. Whilst the 2 pianos (one of which is written for four hands), clarinet and sax symbolize the unstoppable progress of our world, the sopranos and alts argue with the tenors and basses, as respectively liberal and conservative persons.

After a light conversation, the music starts, both parties shout their respects to each other. Both make their first statements and are joined in harmony. A discussion starts. The conductor interrupts the discussion to announce a little light music. After a piano solo, there is a small waltz, which is interrupted to recommence the discussion, which has become very agressive, with screams and yells. This culminates as they scream "Yes!"/"No!", whilst the conductor tries to calm then. The singers then make their final statement, ending in a strange sort of agreement. The piece ends with them greeting each other in respect, though the pianos make it clear to us, that progression will never stop.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Joris van der Herten. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Joris van der Herten has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.