Music of Pageant & Patriotism - Holst, G. - I Vow To Thee My Country ('Jupiter' from 'The Planets') - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Gustav Holst
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Cecil Spring-Rice
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

I VOW TO THEE MY COUNTRY (�Jupiter� from The Planets Suite) Text: Cecil Spring-Rice (1859-1918) Music: Gustav Holst (1874-1934)

In 1915 Gustav Holst composed one of his best-known works, The Planets, a suite of seven tone poems for large orchestra (first performed, at a semi-private rehearsal by Adrian Boult in 1918 and in public, without the movements �Venus� and �Neptune�, by the Royal Philharmonic Society in 1919). On January 12 Cecil Spring-Rice appended a text to the fourth movement of the work known by its full title as � Jupiter - The Bringer of Jollity�, transforming the middle section of this fourth movement tone poem into a quasi hymn form known as Thaxted, which after its first performance in September 1918 firmly established itself as the nations favourite patriotic hymn.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.