Toccata & Fugue in D-minor BWV.565 for String Quartet

Bach J.S.
Full details...
page one of Toccata & Fugue in D-minor BWV.565 for String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Toccata & Fugue in D minor (BWV.565) by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) is one of the most famous organ-works and is very popular in the world. Peter Williams, musicologist, hypothesized that the piece was originally written for solo violin. Several re-arrangements from organ to violin have been done according his hypothesis. As can been listen these re-arrangements, this great music is also suitable for string instruments. This arrangement is for string quartet. Compared with solo violin playing, the difficulties in playing are greatly reduced by collaboration. However, there appears different difficulty in the quartet version. Sometimes, it is much easier to play by one person than by multiple persons. In the latter case, exact synchronizing between multiple players is necessary and is sometimes very difficult. In this arrangement, a lot of efforts have been done to reduce this kind of difficulty. Many cue-notes deployed in the part-scores will also help co-operating.

Score ID
Bach J.S.
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Toccata & Fugue in D-minor BWV.565 for String Quartet

Reviews of Toccata & Fugue in D-minor BWV.565 for String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...