Concertino for Harpsichord & Strings

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble

This was, in fact, my very first composition, when a mere teenager! Initially it was for piano, and is very much based on baroque / classical pastiche. I have kept the original piano part as it was then, but after deciding to add string accompaniment many years later, felt that the change to harpsichord would be appropriate. It is cast as a short, three-movement concerto, but because of the slighter dimensions, I felt that ’concertino’ would be a more suitable title.

Of course, it is not supposed to mimic an authentic Baroque style, either in the harpsichord writing per se or in the melodic material, where clearly the second movement closely betrays its original piano source. It is, as said earlier, a piece of light-hearted pastiche, and an attempt to add some new life to a (now) very juvenile composition!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.