Weird Star Trek Dream Thing

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This oddly-titled piece came to me as a very odd dream, in which I was in the "Star Trek: The Next Generation" world. The scene was essentially a prolonged zoom out, where these clones of the bridge crew (Picard, Riker, Worf, etc) appeared as more of the bridge came into view. The main theme, first introduced by the low strings, was actually the same theme in the dream as the scene progressed.

This piece is not very long; as soon as I woke up I tried to recreate the music as best as I could remember it, but no doubt some things are different. It is actually the first piece where the majority of the material comes from a dream, pretty interesting for me.

I've also put labels on the score revealing what is happening where. Yes some are weird…that is intentional.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Matt Cadirao. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Matt Cadirao has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.