HANDEL, G.F. - Where E'er You Walk from 'Semele' - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of HANDEL, G.F. - Where E'er You Walk from 'Semele' - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

WHERE E�ER YOU WALK from �SEMELE� Music: George Frideric Handel (1685-1759) Libretto: William Congreve (1670-1729)

In 1743, Handel, just after composing his oratorio Samson ventured into the world of classical drama, when he decided to use William Congreve�s libretto for John Eccles opera Semele in 1707. Composing the music over a one-month period (from June 3 to July 4) in 1743,the work received its first performance in February 1744 at the Theatre Royal, Covent Garden, London. Although the work naturally took shape as an opera, Semele however was presented in the manner of an oratorio, and since it�s first performance has also found a niche in the concert repertoire, being championed and claimed by choral groups.

Score ID
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
William Congreve
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for HANDEL, G.F. - Where E'er You Walk from 'Semele' - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

You might also like...