Piano Sonata - first movement

Full details...
page one of Piano Sonata - first movement

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The opening movement is based on traditional sonata form. The first theme in C minor is despairing but lyrical and flowing. It gives way to a more hopeful second theme starting in G major. I see the first movement as being a contrast of these themes of despair and hope. A transitional motif is heard in between them. This motif is heard throughout all four movements. There is an long development section, the mood changes from reflective to jazzy and aggressive, from slow to fast to slow. At the climax of the development there is a big statement of the second theme with rapid arpeggios across the top end of the piano. The mood then calms and there is a surprise reference to the jazz style of Errol Garner and Dudley Moore - both of whom made a big impression on me. (I met up with Dudley and transcribed an number of his works before and after his death). Then follows the recap of the two main themes in the home key of C minor and C major followed by a brief coda.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Piano Sonata - first movement

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...