Piano Sonata - fourth movement

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
9 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The fiendishly difficult and uncompromising finale in B minor is full of complex rhythms - often involving two different asymmetrical rhythmic patterns set against each other and out of phase. The idea of a final movement that is both fast but sad was partly inspired by the last movement of Chopin�s third sonata. The main theme is used like a rondo theme (recurring) with episodes in between either recalling the hope theme from the first movement or developing other material. Towards the end of the movement there is a sudden return of the first subject from movement I in C minor � first combined simultaneously with the �rondo� theme. Then the music switches back to B minor and builds towards it�s climax, hammering the transition motif and �would be love theme� into submission as arpeggios cross over the right hand up the piano. After the final statement of the �rondo� theme the music subsides and ends despairingly with these arpeggios reaching upwards.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Steve Law. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Steve Law has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.