Flourish and Evocation

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Modern classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Flourish and Evocation was composed in response to a commission from The Prince�s Trust. The commission asked for a work to open a concert celebrating the marriage of its founder, HRH The Prince of Wales to Mrs Camilla Parker-Bowles.

In deciding the form and style of this work, the composer drew on two specific aspects of the commission. It is clear that the character of the piece should be the embodiment of regal celebration. In addition to this, the work is to be the opening item of a concert; therefore the obvious musical style to emulate would be that of the flourish or fanfare.

Structurally, the work owes much to the form of the processional works of William Walton (1902-1983). The two clear subjects of the piece are sandwiched in between a mood setting introduction which is quoted again in a short coda.

The combination of Mixolydian and Lydian modes may well remind the listener of harmonic colourations employed by contemporary wind band composers. However, it is important to acknowledge that these �contemporary craftsmen� have ostensibly �borrowed� these harmonic devices from Walton.

Whilst the material at letter A symbolizes the imperial splendour of the occasion, the second subject at letter B is written in a style attempting to epitomise the other emotion of the occasion, the emotion of love.

The recapitulation of the second subject at letter D should be performed with a more stately pulse however, the conductor should be wary not to stray onto the cumbersome side of the tempo.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Walters. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Michael Walters has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.