La Guerra de Espana: No. 4. Fandango

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
World music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The "Fandango" is the second interlude dance which takes place after the second movement of "La Guerra de Espana," a tone poem for piano. My plan is to eventually score the entire work as a ballet with dialogue.

The over-arcing storyline behind this tone poem is the "Reconquista," a centuries-long struggle during which the Christians of the Iberian peninsula reclaimed the land from the Moors. The first two movements are set in times leading up to the present action: King Alfonso VIII of Castile is preparing for a battle at Las Navas de Tolosa. A soldier from his army has fallen in love with a captured Moorish princess. The love story is essentially the only fictional part.

Point in the story:

The first two interludes are in the present timeline of the story (1212). The Castilian soldier breaks the Moorish princess out of her imprisonment and they flee into the streets of Toledo. Hiding within the slave quarters, they dance a celebratory fandango.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Benjamin Brown. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Benjamin Brown has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.