your eyes have their silence

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

A string trio commissioned by The Rosetta Trio. When writing your eyes have their silence, I was struck that the pace of our lives seems to be ever increasing from one year to the next. New forms of communication technology appear every year. It was only 10 years ago that I got my first e-mail address. Since then have come instant messages, cell phones, text messages, and now, with the iPhone, a device where you can talk on the phone while instant texting your e-mails and googling to your heart's discontent. As the world becomes hyper-connected, we spend more hours each day at work, going to and from work, going from place to place, and fewer hours "in between." It is in the in-between where we have time for reflection, time for peace, and time for love.
 A description of each movement can be found on

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Hossfeld. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Christopher Hossfeld has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.