Two Carols for Four Guitars

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Acoustic Guitar [notation])
Instrumental parts
Not available

These two traditional melodies are more commonly known as the carols God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and Good Christian Men (now: "Friends") Rejoice. All parts remain in quarter note or longer value and so reading is not too difficult. The exception is for the first guitar which often plays all the way to the 17th fret. With one exception, Harmonics are all natural. I have placed all harmonic notes as they should sound and marked where they can be created. Instead of harmonics in the first guitar, natural notes could be played but the 17th fret will become a frequent companion. Tempo settings are set at absolutely minimal speeds. Accomplished players should perform faster. Parts are available at $1.00 ea. Contact the arranger

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Raymond Braun. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Raymond Braun has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.