Bach Violin Concerto in A minor

Paul Wood
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Heinichen Violin Concerto for Violin and String Orchestra, Vivaldi Violin Concerto in E major Op.3 No.12, Mussorgsky Gopak for String Orchestra, Beethoven Romance for Violin and Orchestra No.1 Op.40 in G Major, Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Violins in A minor Op.3 No.8, Overture to Judas Maccabaeus, Paganini Sonata Varsavia for Violin and Piano, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.3, Rondo From Abdelazar, Sarabande in D minor for String Orchestra, Sinfonia in D, Telemann Sonata for Strings, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.2 for String Quartet, Telemann Concerto for 4 Violins, Handel Music for the Royal Fireworks - Complete, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.8, Bull The Herdgirl's Sunday for Violin and String Orchestra, Wieniawski Polonaise Brillante No.1 Op.4, Elgar Chanson De Nuit Op.15 No.1 for Violin and Piano, C. Tessarini di Rimini Concerti a Cinque No.1for Violin and String Orchestra, Capua O Sole Mio for String Orchestra, Greig Holberg Suite for String Orchestra, Vivaldi Concerto for 4 Violins in E Minor Op.3 No.4, Faure Apres une Reve for Violin and String Orchestra, Bach Violin Concerto in E major, Rieding Violin Concerto in B Minor Op.35 for Violin and String Orchestra, Albinoni Violin Concerto in C major, Handel Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No.1, Boyce Symphony No.4 for 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns in F & Strings, Vivaldi Violin Concerto in A minor Op.3 No.6, Handel Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.11, Rieding Concertino Op.21 for Violin and String Orchestra, Rimsky-Korsakov Chanson Indoue for Violin and String Orchestra and Seitz Student Concerto No.2 for Violin and Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach(21 March 1685 O.S. � 28 July 1750) was a prolific German composer and organist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity. Although he introduced no new forms, he enriched the prevailing German style with a robust contrapuntal technique, a control of harmonic and motivic organisation from the smallest to the largest scales, and the adaptation of rhythms and textures from abroad, particularly Italy and France.

The Violin Concerto in A minor by J. S. Bach (BWV 1041) is a concerto in 3 movements:

  • Allegro moderato
  • Andante � with an ostinato style theme
  • Allegro assai

The Clavier (Piano) concerto in G minor, BWV 1058, is an arrangement of this concerto with piano or harpsichord.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Paul Wood. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Paul Wood has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.