The Wild Things (piano)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Inspired by Maurice Sendak's classic children's book "Where The Wild Thins Are", this is a piano version of the suite of eight pieces originally for wind quintet. I hope this might be a more convenient format for playing to young children while a second performer reads the words. However, I am careful not to publish any of Mr Sendak's original work as the rights are owned by Universal films. If you are more successful than I was in trying to get a reply from Universal and you get permission for a performance - especially with costumes - please let me know! It could be great fun! The original story ends quietly but section 8 ("Wild Thing Forever") is an original idea which allows all the Wild Things to parade again in their costumes. Get them stompin' ! NMB.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Nic Bullivant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Nic Bullivant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.