Slidell - Dedication to Louisiana for String Quartet

Full details...
page one of Slidell - Dedication to Louisiana for String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

�I�m walkin� to New Orleans, I�m going to need two pairs of shoes. When I get through walkin� to you, when I get back to New Orleans.� � Fats Domino

Concert Notes Slidell was one of many towns in Louisiana that were severely damaged by Hurricane Katrina, where, this spring break, I helped reconstruct destroyed homes with Habitat for Humanity. In the summer of 2005, one of the worst natural disasters in American history hit the Southern United States seaboard, costing over a thousand lives and billions of dollars of damage. Reports say that there were 1,000 dead fish on the city streets of Slidell. Little more than half the population of New Orleans has returned. This string quartet is dedicated to those who continue to rebuild from the ruins.

Notes to the Performer This composition is in rondo (ABACA) form. The first theme that reappears again is a heroic, earthy celebration. The B Section (m. 36), is a more lyrical, romantic waltz, that can be played with much freedom of strict tempo. The C section (m. 78) is a soulful blues, so feel free to add whatever jazzy ornamentations you feel. Returning to the A theme at the end (m. 106), the piece concludes with �The Star Spangled Banner� and �O Canada� snippets, as well as a rousing coda.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
String quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Slidell - Dedication to Louisiana for String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...