Borghild’s Dream - wind quintet

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Suo Gan - trombone quartet, Gymnopedie No.1 - trombone quartet, Suo Gan - flute quartet, Silent Night - flute quintet, Largo from Xerxes - flute quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - flute quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - flute quartet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - flute quintet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - flute choir, String Quartet in F for brass - brass quintet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - flute quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - trombone quartet, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - flute choir, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - flute quartet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass band, Canon and Gigue - flute quintet, Rhapsody in Blue - sax ensemble, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - flute quartet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass ensemble, Joy To the World - brass quintet, Silent Night - brass quintet, Silent Night - wind quintet, Silent Night - clarinet quintet, The Great Gate of Kiev from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, 15 Christmas Carols for string quartet, Chorale Theme from the Organ Symphony (No.3, Op.78) - sax ensemble, The 12 Days of Christmas - sax ensemble, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (3rd movement) - clarinet quintet, Promenade from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (2nd movement) - clarinet quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - brass quintet, Prelude in C major, BWV 870a - brass quintet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - sax quartet, Triumphal March based on Nun Danket Alle Gotte - brass quintet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - string quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - brass ensemble, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - string quartet, All Through The Night - string quartet, Gymnopedie No.1 - string quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - recorder quartet, Suo Gan - string quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - sax quartet, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - sax ensemble, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - sax quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - sax ensemble, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - brass ensemble, To Dots, From Jazz - big band, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - brass quintet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - brass quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - brass quintet, American Patrol - sax quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - wind quintet, Swing Dat Canon! - big band, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - brass quintet, Largo from Xerxes - wind quintet, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - recorder quartet, American Patrol - flute quintet, 12 Variations on ’Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’ "Ah, vous dirai-je maman" (K.265/300e) - wind quintet and Happy Birthday - wind quintet

This dramatic Intermezzo is the second movement from Sigurd Jorsalfar by Edvard Grieg. It works very well for small ensemble and features the haunting chromatic melodic figure which, as in the original orchestral composition, is first played by the bassoon.

page one of Borghild’s Dream - wind quintetASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Austin Ralphson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.