Silent Night - string quartet

Franz Gr�ber
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Suo Gan - trombone quartet, Joy To the World - string quartet, Gymnopedie No.1 - trombone quartet, Suo Gan - flute quartet, Silent Night - flute quintet, Largo from Xerxes - flute quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - flute quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - flute quartet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - flute quintet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - flute quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - flute choir, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - flute quartet, Rhapsody in Blue - sax ensemble, String Quartet in F for brass - brass quintet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass ensemble, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - flute quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - trombone quartet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass band, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - flute choir, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - flute quartet, Canon and Gigue - flute quintet, Silent Night - clarinet quintet, Silent Night - wind quintet, The Great Gate of Kiev from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, The 12 Days of Christmas - sax ensemble, Chorale Theme from the Organ Symphony (No.3, Op.78) - sax ensemble, Promenade from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (3rd movement) - clarinet quintet, Triumphal March based on Nun Danket Alle Gotte - brass quintet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - string quartet, Canon and Gigue - sax quintet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - brass ensemble, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - string quartet, All Through The Night - string quartet, Gymnopedie No.1 - string quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - recorder quartet, Suo Gan - string quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - sax quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - sax quartet, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - sax ensemble, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - brass ensemble, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - sax ensemble, To Dots, From Jazz - big band, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - brass quintet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - brass quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - brass quintet, American Patrol - sax quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - wind quintet, Swing Dat Canon! - big band, American Patrol - flute quintet, Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra, Gnossienne No.1 - string quartet and Happy Birthday - string quartet

This is a very relaxed, peaceful arrangement of Silent Night for string quartet. It uses harmonies which are slightly different to the ’usual’ ones and has been successfully performed many times at Christmas. If the high cello octave leaps are too tricky, they can be lowered by an octave.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Austin Ralphson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Austin Ralphson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.