Fantasia on Moravian Hymns

Full details...
page one of Fantasia on Moravian Hymns

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Fantasia On Moravian Hymns was composed during 1998 as a result of a commission by the 20th Moravian Music festival. The work is in three sections; fast, slow, fast. The first section uses phrases from the hymns Sing Hallelujah, Praise the Lord and Jesus Makes My Heart Rejoice in a festive duple meter with a continuous triplet accompaniment. The phrases are used separately, in canon, and in counterpoint against each other. The second section uses the hymn When My Love To Christ Grows Weak which is turned into a passacaglia bass line. Eight variations over this bass line follow the initial statement. The last section uses the hymns All the World Give Praises Due and To Avert from Men God’s Wrath. All the World Give Praises Due is divided into phrases separated by a fanfare-like descant. The descant then becomes the basis of a short fugal section that leads directly into the hymn, To Avert from Men God’s Wrath. The harmony becomes more chromatic and is accompanied by a descant that grows out of the previous fugue. All the World Give Praises Due returns but is expanded as it leads to the climactic end.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Fantasia on Moravian Hymns

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...