Minstrels Prelude XII Premier Livre

Claude Debussy
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

Claude Debussy's Pr´┐Żludes are two sets of pieces for solo piano. They are divided into two separate livres, or books, of twelve preludes each. Unlike previous cycles of twenty-four preludes, like that of Chopin, Debussy's do not follow a set pattern of key signatures, but instead move arbitrarily through the possible keys, without even using five of them. The first book was written between December of 1909 and February of 1910, and the second between 1911 and April of 1913.

I orchestrated Prelude XII from the first book. It has a lot of humour in it and I've tried to make that clear in my orchestration. This version for Debussy Orchestra has medium-high difficulty.

For individual parts, purchase the score first and then I'll send you extracted parts for the desired instrumentation. Just send me an email (found on my Sibelius Homepage)

Instrumentation: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinettes (Bb), 2 Bassoons, 4 French Horns (F), Percussion (Snare, Suspended Cymbal), Harp, Strings

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Hannes Vanlancker. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Hannes Vanlancker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.