Sonatensatz (Scherzo)

Johannes Brahms
Full details...
page one of Sonatensatz (Scherzo)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is my orchestration of Johannes Brahms's Sonatensatz in C minor for Violin and Piano. The piece was the scherzo of the "FAE Sonata", a violin sonata jointly composed for famed violinist Joseph Joachim by Brahms, Robert Schumann, and Schumann's pupil Albert Dietrich, each of whom produced a movement.

The original piece struck me as having a very orchestral sonority for a violin sonata. So, I decided to orchestrate the winds, the brass, and the strings that I heard when listening to the original. The arrangement really almost seemed to write itself, and I finished it in about a day.

Aside from some dynamic changes (an orchestral build-up in the trio section as opposed to becoming even softer as in the original) and minor phrasing adjustments, the arrangement is faithful to the original. I tried to orchestrate it as Brahms might have done it himself, using orchestral resources and a style that was typical of the composer.

This arrangement will be premiered by the Puget Sound Symphony Orchestra on March 8, 2008.

Score ID
Johannes Brahms
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sonatensatz (Scherzo)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...