Home > Wind quintet > Meditation (for Wind Quintet)

Meditation (for Wind Quintet)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts
Not available

A short piece that tries to exploit the wonderful quality possessed by wind quintets (really of all wind ensembles)of evoking the experience of "breathing together." The articulation/breathing becomes structural, sometimes creating dense, rapid textures and other times long, sustained textures. The varied potential of the experience of group breathing (in tandem/in contrast)is quite wonderful both in musical and extra-musical terms -the sounds literally arises out of the air, from the "life-breath" of the musicians. The effect reminds me, by way of contrast, of the Stravinsky/Craft wisecrack that IS never composed for the organ "because the damned thing never breaths."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Stephen Pantani. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Stephen Pantani has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.