Jesus autem transiens/Credo in Deum

Robert Wylkynson
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

This unusual piece is one of two added by Robert Wylkynson in his own hand to the Eton Choirbook, after the index had already been written (the other is his magnificent 9-voice Salve Regina). Its text comprises two elements: the opening of the Magnificat Antiphon on the 3rd Sunday in Lent, and the Apostles´┐Ż Creed. Wylkynson, following a traditional scheme , allocates individual phrases of the Creed to each Apostle. The piece is in the form of a canon for 13 equal voices, given in the Tenor (C4) clef with frequent changes between this and the Alto (C3) clef to allow for the extension of the range to the high A. A realisation in score is available on sale.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.