Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (S) & Organ

Year of composition
Book of Common Prayer (1662)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores
I Sing of a Maiden, Peter Mass (revised 2011), The Spirit of God TTB, Versicles & Responses (1662) for Trebles (SS) & Organ, Six Little Piano Pieces, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) Version for SSAA Choir, Invocations, Stand up, friends!, Litany of Saints for Ordinations, I know that river which flows for ever (version with harp & cello), I know that river which flows for ever, Beati qui habitant in domo tua, Domine (TTB), The Spirit of God SATB, Ascension Introit: Men of Galilee, Litany of Saints, Fantasia: ’Pange lingua’, Advent Psalms (Year B), Missa Modalis, In paradisum (from Fauré Requiem), Mary had a Baby, Blessed are those / Beati qui ad cenam, Ad Regias Agni Dapes (Easter) (TTBB), Spiritus Domini super me SATB, Gloria (from the Missa Modalis), Tu es Petrus, Pater, sanctifica eos in veritate (TTB), Advent descant: Lo, he comes, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee! true Body (8 part version), Advent Entrance Antiphon: To you, my God/Ad te levavi, Advent Entrance Antiphon: The Lord is coming/Veniet Dominus, Ave verum corpus: Hail to thee (SAB version), Advent Alleluia, Capriol Suite arr. for 6 hands (Bransles), O sacrum convivium, Never Weather-beaten Saile, Advent Entrance Antiphon: Christ our King is coming/Rex noster adveniet Christus, Advent Entrance Antiphon: A shoot will spring/Egredietur virga, Spiritus Domini super me TTB, Alleluia (Gospel Acclamation), Tintinnabula (Sonata), Toccata Postlude on 'Veni Creator Spiritus', Advent Psalms (Year A), Chaconne Mass, Godhead here in hiding (Adoro te devote), Beata es, Virgo Maria (TTB) and Salve Regina

These Versicles & Responses for Trebles & Organ were composed for and first performed at an RSCM chorister course in Portsmouth Cathedral in 1996. They have subsequently received several other performances. They are available in two versions: one with simple divisions of the voices, the other with slightly more independence.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Phillip Pennington Harris. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Phillip Pennington Harris has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.