Sonatina in E-Flat Major for Brass Quintet

Note: This score is at sounding pitch.

Commentary by Left Brain and Right Brain. LB: "To mark their 50th anniversary on 13 December 2001, classical radio station WFMT-FM 98.7 in Chicago invited music students to submit a composition for Brass Quintet of exactly 50 measures in length." RB: "Whoa there, pardner! You composed this here Sonatina for that there contest, even though your non-student status disqualifies you? What are you, goofy?" LB: "Perhaps. More likely, the challenge of strict restrictions proved more exciting and intriguing than unlimited freedom." RB: "You are posilutely right. A substantial work squeezed into exactly 50 measures was a challenge that was truly inspirational." LB: "My original version was a sonatina semplice alla Muzio Clementi, or possibly alla Carl Czerny. Then 2 weeks later the muse beckoned anew, and transformed it into a sonatina brevis quasi Ferruccio Busoni." RB: "This baby is loaded with features. This itsy-bitsy teeny-weeny sonatina has 2 brief themes based on the Morse code for 'WFMT' and '98.7'. Kinda cool eh? 20-20 hindsight shows that it's almost a palidrome too. The 20-measure fugato development is flanked by 15-measure exposition and recapitulation sections. 50 bars are a lotta soap, and it all comes out squeaky clean." LB: "The number 5 figures prominently throughout this sonatina. A quintet has 5 instruments, the meter is 5/4, the central fugato has 5 phrases, and the score occupies 5 printed pages. All to commemorate 5 decades of fine WFMT radio broadcasts in Chicago. Vive la musique."

[[|See also: Brass Quintet in C Minor (complete):
I. Allegro moderato * II. Scherzo: Allegro * III. Romanze: Andante * IV. Finale: Allegro molto
Encore: Cort?ge in A Minor for Brass Quintet]]

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David Stybr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David Stybr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.