11 Famous Carols for two Instruments, Descant and Treble Version

Easy (Grades 1-3)
7 minutes
Classical music
Duet (Soprano Recorder)
Instrumental parts
Not available

These are two part arrangements of 11 famous carols originally for treble and tenor recorders. The carols are Deck the Hall, God Rest You Merry, Good King Wenceslas, It Came Upon the Midnioght Clear, Joy to the World, O Come All Ye Faithful, See Amid the Winter's Snow, The Holly and the Ivy, While Shepherds Watched, Unto Us a Boy is Born and Hark! The Herald Angels Sing.

They originally used a tenor recorder for the 2nd part to give a nice deep sonority but it was immediately realized that many primary schools do not have tenor recorders, so this version for descant and treble was made.

The words have not been added as it is likely schools will already have them in the many collected editions of carols and recorder players will have sung the carols and so will know how to phrase them. The harmony is mostly compatible with familiar versions but an emphasis has been made on creating effective two part writing.

The edition, though concieved with recorder ranges in mind, can obviously be played on two other instruments provided you allow for the 2nd part being down the octave, (or the 1st part up the octave as for recorders).

page one of 11 Famous Carols for two Instruments,  Descant and Treble VersionASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Grayson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.