Tallis Third Mode Melody Processional for Strings & Organ

Thomas Tallis
Full details...
page one of Tallis Third Mode Melody Processional for Strings & Organ

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Third Mode Melody was written by Tallis for inclusion in Archbishop Parker’s Psalter of 1567, and is famous today, most probably due to Vaughan Williams orchestral "Fantasy on a theme by Thomas Tallis.

This arrangement for String Orchestra (with optional organ and percussion) is in three parts: (See also the arrangement for Brass Quintet) Part I: has the melody played by the horn (in tenor register, where Tallis himself placed the melody.)

Part II: theme given to Viola

Part III: A Processional arrangement, influenced by Canzona style.

I have tried to keep to the original rhythm, which was based on textual(word) accent, rather than equal measures. [This turned out harder than I thought!] As bar lines only appeared at the end of each line of the original stanza, I have inserted dashed lines to help mark out the rythmical pulses.

Score ID
Thomas Tallis
Bernard Kirkpatrick
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
String orchestra
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Tallis Third Mode Melody Processional for Strings & Organ

Reviews of Tallis Third Mode Melody Processional for Strings & Organ

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...