The FlagBearer

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

This piece is an experiment in something I was meaning to try for a while. The concept is this: I take two sets of text, one roughly two or three times longer than the other (in terms of the number of characters used in it). The shorter text is translated into international morse code, while the longer text is converted into a tone row, using a table I devised. The tone row is further divided into three sub-sections called sets, which can be used in any way the composer sees fit - they can be assigned to different choirs of the orchestra, or different instruments; piled on top of each other to form chords, and some other more complex techniques. The unbroken tone row however, can always serve as melodic material. Meanwhile, the morse rhythms of the shorter text serve as a rhythmic guideline for the tone row. The object of the experiment was to make music which literally says exactly what you want it to say (if only in code).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Elliot Wright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Elliot Wright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.