Home > Solo instrument > RODE, P. - No.2 from 24 Caprices for Solo Violin transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

RODE, P. - No.2 from 24 Caprices for Solo Violin transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

Pierre Rode
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument
Instrumental parts
Not available


Transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

The French violinist and composer Jacques Pierre Joseph Rode was born in Bordeaux on Feb. 16, 1774, and died there on Nov. 25 1830. In Bordeaux he was a pupil of Fauvel, and in 1788 studied with Viotti in Paris. In 1790 he made his solo debut and then joined the orchestra of the Theatre Feydeau until 1794, when he toured Holland and Germany. His many appointments included a professorship at the new Conservatory, leader of the Opera orchestra, and violinist to Napoleon, and in 1803 he went with Boieldieu to St. Petersburg, where he became one of the Emperor´┐Żs private musicians. In 1813 when he was at Vienna he became associated with Beethoven, who composed the wonderful Sonata in G major, op.96 especially for him, and it received its first performance at a private concert with Rode and Archduke Rudolph. At the height of his career Rode was considered to be a very great artist. He composed thirteen concertos, 24 Caprices, twelve Etudes, and other pieces for the violin, also a method.

As the title of this opus suggests Rode composed his Caprices in the form of Etudes for solo Violin in all 24 keys, and starts with the key of C major in the first Caprice and follows this with the relative A minor of the second Caprice. Of course these translate on the Viola into F major and D minor respectively, and so on until all 24 keys are utilised. Students of the Viola will find that these Caprices together with those of Kreutzer and othere are an indespensible aid and of great value in developing a well-rounded technique.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Gerald Manning. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.