Alla Marcia in D Major (Slippin' the Sloop) for Concert Orchestra

Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

I wanted to write a piece which utilises a percussion section. The base line of this piece had been running around inside my head for some time and, when I finally sat down at the keyboard the basic idea of this march was formed and I bashed out the entire piece on the keyboard in a single sitting. It is not an actual marching band piece, but is scored for a Concert band. Should I need to refine it down any further the string section can be replaced by a grouping of Clarinets.

The piano version is the original working idea. It was easy to extend the idea into an orchestral or mixed band setting. I was born into a military family and I remember that as a small child in my pram I was often taken to the parade square to listen to the marching band rehearsing.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Dewar-Finch. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Dewar-Finch has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.