These duets are amongst the most enduring and best loved works of Telemann's prolific career.

Part of the secret lies in their flexibility. These are not arrangements of larger scale pieces, but simple canonic duets, presented as they were written. Telemann wrote them with a variety of different instruments in mind, restricting the range to two octaves.

Part of their charm lies in their wit. Each duet consists of a single melody line with the second player joining the first a bar or two into the piece, in much the same way as children do when they sing rounds like Frere Jacques or London's Burning. Telemann manages to build whole movements and modulations whilst maintaining the canon.

The final attraction is the melodies themselves. Telemann was a master melodist and every duet captures a different mood.

This volume contains three sonatas, each with three movements. Volume 2 is available from my homepage

Sonata 1 in G Major




Sonata 2 in G Minor




Sonata 3 in D Major



Allegro Assai

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David McKeown. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David McKeown has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.