Telemann Canonic Sonatas Vol.2 for Violin

G.P Telemann
Full details...
page one of Telemann Canonic Sonatas Vol.2 for  Violin

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

These duets are amongst the most enduring and best loved works of Telemann's prolific career.

Part of the secret lies in their flexibility. These are not arrangements of larger scale pieces, but simple canonic duets, presented as they were written. Telemann wrote them with a variety of different instruments in mind, restricting the range to two octaves.

Part of their charm lies in their wit…Each duet consists of a single melody line with the second player joining the first a bar or two into the piece, in much the same way as children do when they sing rounds like Frere Jacques or London's Burning. Telemann manages to build whole movements and modulations whilst maintaining the canon.

The final attraction is the melodies themselves. Telemann was a master melodist and every duet captures a different mood.

This volume contains three sonatas, each with three movements

Sonata 4 in D minor

Vivace ma Moderato

Piacevole non Largo


Sonata 5 in A Major




Sonata 6 in A Minor



Allegro Assai

Volume 1 is available elsewhere on my homepage.

Score ID
G.P Telemann
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
35 minutes
Duet of Solo Violins
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Telemann Canonic Sonatas Vol.2 for  Violin

Reviews of Telemann Canonic Sonatas Vol.2 for Violin

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...