Bach 3 Part Invention no.11 for String Quartet

JS Bach
Full details...
page one of Bach 3 Part Invention no.11 for String Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Bach’s Three part Inventions started life as keyboard exercises and studies written for his son WF Bach. They remain exquisite examples of Bach’s art in miniature, formally perfect, harmonically sure-footed and melodically charming. All these elements combine to leave timeless music that transcends the original educational intention.

No.11 is in G Minor and the tempo is Allegretto Moderato. The standard is for intermediate to advanced players as the music exploits the full range of the instruments and the rhythms are fairly complex. Since the music is fugal in form there is equal interest in all the parts. The original music is obviously in three parts, but since the bass part covers a very wide range it is shared between viola and ’cello. These inventions are fairly short, around two minutes each, and work well in concert with the other four Bach Inventions arranged for string quartet on my pages.

Score ID
JS Bach
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Bach 3 Part Invention no.11 for String Quartet

Reviews of Bach 3 Part Invention no.11 for String Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...