Scarlatti ’The Cat’ Sonata K30 for Clarinet Quartet

D Scarlatti
Full details...
page one of Scarlatti ’The Cat’ Sonata K30 for Clarinet Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

K30, ’The Cat Fugue’, is one of the most famous of the 500 or so sonatas that Domenico Scarlatti wrote for harpsichord. He was apparently inspired by his cat walking down the keyboard! The unusual intervals thus generated are typical of the way that Scarlatti pushed the musical boundaries of the time.

This wonderful sonata is now available for Clarinet Quartet in a new edition, arranged by David McKeown. It is scored for three Bbs and one Bb Bass clarinet, with an alternative 3rd part for Eb Alto Clarinet. Being a fugue, there is plenty of interest in all four parts. This is not an easy piece to perform; players will need several years experience to tackle it, but it will make a unique and exciting addition to any concert program, amateur or professional.

Scarlatti often conceived of his sonatas in pairs, slow and fast, and the perfect partner for this one is K208, also available for Clarinet Quartet on my pages.

Score ID
D Scarlatti
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Quartet of Clarinets in Bb
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Scarlatti ’The Cat’ Sonata K30 for Clarinet Quartet

Reviews of Scarlatti ’The Cat’ Sonata K30 for Clarinet Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...