K208 is one of the better known of the 500 or so sonatas that Domenico Scarlatti wrote for harpsichord.

This beautiful sonata is now available for Saxophone Quartet in a new edition, arranged by David McKeown. This is a really an accompanied solo for the Soprano Saxophone. The lead part is for an experienced player; slow but lyrical, making demands on the player’s breath and tone control. The other parts are very simple, but again, care must be taken to keep the long note parts in balance and tune with each other. This piece will make a unique and exciting addition to any concert program, amateur or professional. Scarlatti often conceived of his sonatas in pairs, slow then fast, and the perfect partner to this sonata is the fugue sonata K30, also available for Saxophone Quartet on my pages.

You will receive both the score and separte parts for soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones. A ’Low A Baritone’ is not required.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David McKeown. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com David McKeown has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.