SPEAKEASY SUITE I. "Flappers" (Charleston)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
String orchestra
Instrumental parts

The three movements of SPEAKEASY SUITE are pastiche, intended to introduce my students to syncopation and the dance music of the 1920's, the era of Al Capone, the illegal drinking dens, and the rather "shocking" dress and hair styles of that era in America. "Flappers" comprises two Charleston-style dance tunes, the first rather wild, the second just a little tamer. I have written two endings, the second an octave higher than the first. Which one is used depends on the taste of the conductor and the technical expertise of the players. Above all, this is music for fun, music to provide an alternative to the standard fare of staid music that our charges normally play.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Declan Townsend. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Declan Townsend has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.