Short Moments in a Long Day No 3. 'A Memory' for solo viola

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts
Not available

In so far as there is a unifying theme to these eight pieces for solo viola it is the diversity of mood and experience that may characterise any ordinary day. Although conceived as a single work, in form closer to a Suite rather than to a Cycle, the pieces may be played separately. Each piece is loosely based on one of the eight traditional modes, rather than keys. It may be truer to say that the pieces are 'informed' by the modes as there is neither a strict adherence to the principles of modality, nor an evasion of diatonic harmony, but, rather, an exploration of the overlap or complementarity between the two systems. But, don't worry about the technicalities - just enjoy! The eight pieces are presented here individually, but they may be purchased, or listened to as a complete set - see store catalogue for details.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Andrew Moore. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Andrew Moore has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.