BRASS BAND - Euphonium Solo - Cello Sonata

Claude Debussy
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Brass band
Instrumental parts
Not available

Neo-classical in style, this sonata was one of Debussy's later works that is recognised as one of the instrument's repertoire classics.

Although this was not intended to be a direct transcription (impossible for the soloist if I did), I thought it would be a challenging project to work on.

This is dedicated to my friend Bill Downie, one of Scotland's best euphonium players in recent history. Indications are that the solo is being well received as a okayish addition to the euphonium portfolio.

I have recently decided to review this arrangement because of the technical difficulty of the vibe part. I have now re-scored this for keyboard/synth (to link with the vibes I chose orchestral harp).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tom Donaldson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Tom Donaldson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.